The British came to India in 1600 as traders, in the form of East India Company, which had the exclusive right of treading in India under a charter granted by Queen Elizabeth I. 

In 1765, the company, which had ‘diwani’ (rights over revenue and civil justice) of Bengal, Bihar and Orissa.This started its career as a territorial power.

[ Note : It was Mughal Emperor, Shah Alam who granted Diwani to the company after it’s victory in the Battle of Buxar, 1764]

In 1858, in the wake of the ‘Sepoy mutiny’, the British Crown assumed direct responsibility for the government of India. This rule continued until India was granted Independence on August 15, 1947.

Various features of the Indian constitution and polity have their roots in British rule. There are certain events in the British rule that laid down the legal framework for the organization and functioning of government and administration in British India.

We will be posting below events chronologically in upcoming posts; 

  • The Company Rule (1773 – 1858)

Regulating Act of 1773

Pitts India Act of 1784

Charter Act of 1883

Charter Act of 1853

  • The Crown Rule (1858 – 1947) 

Government of India Act of 1858

Indian Councils Act of 1861

Indian Councils Act of 1892

Indian Councils Act of 1909 (Morely – Minto Reforms)

Government of India Act of 1919 (Montagu- Chelmsford Reforms)

Simon Commission 1927

Communal Award 1932

Government of India Act of 1935

Indian Independence Act of 1947